Diving Lore

Diving Organisations

Confederation Mondiale Des Activitie Aquatiques

Established 1959. Not so much a dive organisation but more of a Federation of (mainly European) countries who organise a number of varied underwater activities. Split into three branches encompassing Scientific, Sport and Technical disciplines. Scuba Diving is found within the Technical branch and members are ranked by a star system that is standardised throughout all the member countries of CMAS. A one star diver for example is considered a beginner whereas a three star diver is considered something of a guru.

The CMAS Diver Hierarchy

Sport Diver

Introduction to Scuba

1 Star Sport Diver

2 Star Sport Diver

3 Start Sport Diver

4 Star Sport Diver

Leadership Diver


2 Star Instructor

3 Star Instructor

Diver Alert Network - DAN


Copyright Diving Lore Site Map Link Terms Of Use